Close

KiCad + FreeCAD Class 2

A project log for Introduction to KiCad and FreeCAD

HackadayU online course for PCB design using KiCad & mechanical design using FreeCAD. You need basic electronics / engineering skills.

Anool MahidhariaAnool Mahidharia 07/13/2020 at 19:120 Comments

Here is the link to watch Class 2.

In this class, we cover : 

00:00:00 - Session II Overview and Session I review
00:04:15 - Bitmap to Component converter
00:09:40 - Symbol - Footprint association
00:15:20 - Create footprint library and import/add custom footprints
00:17:50 - Netlist Export
00:18:50 - PCBnew Toolbar review, layer manager, page, board and grid settings 
00:25:10 - Netlist / Parts Import
00:28:00 - Parts - move, rotate, flip, place
00:34:10 - Board outline / Edge cuts
00:43:00 - Routing / Track layout
00:43:40 - Net classes setup
00:53:45 - Zone / Pour / Fill
01:02:45 - 3D View
01:03:05 - Silk and Fab Layer cleanup
01:10:15 - ERC

See you in Office Hours on Friday - note the revised time - at 20:30 IST / 11:00am EDT / 8:00 am PDT. 
Link to calendar for easy timezone conversion.

I've updated the Git repo to reflect what we've covered in Session 2.

If you have any questions, please let me know here. 

Discussions